First timer to EEPROM

Denzel

I have a project im in the middle of where I am recording the analogue value of 24 linear pots.
I am measuring the shape of an object as it changes so I need to record the value of my 24 pots to an EEPROM every say 4-8 seconds. This means sending 24 values + a time value to an EEPROM.

Once the EEPROM is full or the recording is finished I intend to send all the data to a computer to graph. I have managed to do this in realtime i.e. take readings, transmit, then graph, but I need to have the unit detached from a computer hence the need for an EEPROM.

I am thinking about using the IC 24LC256 EEPROM as it is the larger of two available from Jaycar NZ. I have never used an EEPROM chip before and don't quite understand how the memory works.
I studied the student exemplar project 'datalogger.pdf' in the help files but I find the use of symbols unusually hard to follow. I understand that this chip has 32Kb of memory (256 / 8 = 32) so how many records would I be able to make?

Also can anyone point me in the direction of a circuit diagram or basic code; I have done a search on the forum and understand that the readI2C, writeI2C commands are used but im a little unsure about te addressing. The exemplar project talks about getting 'data' from 'address' on 'page' of the EEPROM?

Denzel

I have just come across the axe110 datalogger kit
http://www.rev-ed.co.uk/docs/axe110.pdf
which sounds perfect to ease me into EEPROM projects...

Is it suitable for what I want to do?
the memory expansion sounds fine but can I connect it to my 28x and essentially hand it the 24 values once at a time to record? and use the clock expansion to record a time for the values?

Thanks

westaust55

Using 24LC256 EEPROMs

Have a read at the i2c tutorial:
http://www.rev-ed.co.uk/docs/axe110_i2c.pdf

What PIACXE chip do you have. It needs to be one with an "X" in the part name eg 18X, 28X1, to have inbuilt i2c comms capability.

Is your data as bytes or words (2 bytes).