ensuring inputs are triggered to High & Low

Bryang

Hi,
I an using an infrared photo interrupter (Jaycar ZD1901) with a rotating plastic disc with slots to provide a hi/low trigger. I'm OK with the PICAXE coding, but how can I make sure I'm going to capture eash trigger point?
With about a 4.5v Vcc, it measures a High voltage out of about 2.8v, and a low at about 1.6v.
I thought a Schmitt trigger would be the way to go, and happen to have a 74HC14, although never played with one before, but from what I can gather from the datasheet (I'm pretty new to trying to decifer such things) what this would prefer to see is more like <1.4v for the low trigger voltage and >3.6v for the high trigger voltage. The more I have been looking/reading, the more confused I'm getting!
Any suggestions on what components I can use between the photo interrupter & the Picaxe pin to ensure I get clean high & low inputs when I expect them?

Bryan

Dippy

How about a transistor and a couple of resistors? I'd have a quick 20 minute playaround with a simple transistor circuit before plunging into things with lots of legs. It may work and it would keep things simple.
How's your electronics?

moxhamj

There is a simple op amp solution - set a 2V reference with two resistors (eg 27k/18k) to the - input, and send the sensor input to the +input. The output will go high if the +input goes above 2V. 741 will work though I prefer the 324 quad op amp.

Jeremy Leach

I guess it depends exactly what you are doing.

I timed the ReadADC command to take 0.812ms at 8MHz clock the other day, regardless of voltage being read. So might be a code-only solution to your problems as long as you're not doing anything too fast.

Bryang

I'm still struggling with some of the electronics basics, but slowly learning! If you would like to offer some suggestions where to start I'll give it a go. I've got a few transistors & resistors to play with.