'Easier way' of sensing mass.... low accuracy / resolution needed

Blazemaguire

Hello all,

Been a while since I last posted, but it's a new school term, new students and some new questions (I'm a teacher) that you guys might be able to help with.

I have a 6th form students studying systems and control and he's come up with a really nice project 'idea' of creating a digital kitchen scales for use by blind people. - The idea is they punch in the desired weight of ingredients using a simple up and down braille button system.

The blind person then fills the bowl on the scale with whatever ingredient and the PIC analyses the mass and when it reaches matches the 'entered' weight it makes a sound to alert the blind person that they've measured correctly.

Great idea, but having never measured mass with a PIC before I started doing some research.

I originally thought 'strain gauge'.. but from what I gather it's necessary to make the gauge part of a wheatstone bridge to get a varying (but tiny) voltage, and then use an expensive amplifier chip to put this voltage into a range that can actually be read by the ADCs on a PIC chip.

I watched a few videos and read a few websites (my student should probably be doing that, I agree!) and getting the above working seems a bit 'overkill' for what he wants to achieve (and also, for his abilities at this stage)

For the purposes of him getting his coursework grade (this is the main concern, not the quality of the product) can any of you suggest a simpler way of sensing mass that might be accurate to intervals of say, 50g?

It really only needs to be a 'demonstration prototype' for this project.. the system 'stages' and the control programming are of more importance than how well it works.

I was looking for a pre-made 'mass sensor' designed to interface with a PIC, but nobody seems to make anything like that.

Any thoughts? - If not, I may have to get him to chose another path for his coursework.

Rob

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)