Duel mains supply for srvo project

sid

I want to build around 15 small pcb circuits each with an 08m2 on board which will control an individual servo.
I was thinking that it might make sense to have one power supply for all the picaxe circuits that is regulated and smoothed and another power supply feeding the servo's. The supply for the picaxe's probably won't draw much current but I'm assuming that the one for the servo's will need to be able to supply several amps as there might be more than one servo operating at a time.
I was thinking along the lines of using a couple of transformers to achieve this, but I've never built a power supply circuit before and I'm guessing its probably not as simple as 240v into a transformer and 5v out of the transformer.
I realise that protection in the form of fuses either side is a must but I would be grateful if anyone could advise or share a circuit diagram.
Rgds,
Sid

MartinM57

The days of building your own mains power supplies are over really - just search out a good quality 5v wall-wart/laptop charger type supply and you will get there quicker, probably better, and much more safely

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
The safest and recommended course is a pre-built and certified power supply from a reputable manufacturer. 'Power bricks' for consumer products, games consoles, USB hubs, routers, even computers can often be found for 5V with quite high amperage. A PC PSU is probably the most ubiquitous source of high current 5V supply.

You should still take care with any high current power supplies.

sid

The safest and recommended course is a pre-built and certified power supply from a reputable manufacturer. 'Power bricks' for consumer products, games consoles, USB hubs, routers, even computers can often be found for 5V with quite high amperage. A PC PSU is probably the most ubiquitous source of high current 5V supply.

You should still take care with any high current power supplies.
Thanks for the advice

MFB