Driver interface (fast and cheap) for a high power led

djsoftlayer

Hi guys, im very new at this, so, i guess this question will be easy to answer. I have a picaxe who outputs a very simple rectangular wave from one out pin. This wave have this times:

Ton: 0,01 s.
Toff: 0,3 s.

As you can see, its a wave for strobo applications. I have a power led that i want to connect to this output, but the led needs 3.5volts and 350mA.

My Vcc is 5V and can manage that level of current, i live in a very poor country, so the materials for making this driver must be very common, like an 2N2222 for example.

Other thinks to take care, is the times, is a relative fast wave, so the driver component must react faster than this times. Thanks for you help!

JezWeston

Hi there,

For a 350 mA LED, you will need a constant current driver. I've been playing recently with the MAX16836 chips. They only require two extra capacitors, although the chips themselves aren't that easy to come by. They can handle a 10 kHz PWM signal, so I expect they can turn on pretty fast.

There are lots of other LED drivers available, you can find a table of some at:
http://www.element-14.com/community/docs/DOC-3986

djsoftlayer

Thanks but no.

Thanks for your answer but i need a solution with common components like discret semiconductors like transistors.

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member
Why not just use a ULN2803A darlington array like on most of the PICAXE project boards. This will work for you and is cheap!

Jaguarjoe

With a Vces of up to 1.6 volts at 350 ma for the darlingtons in a ULN2803A and a Vf of 3.5 volts for the LED, there is no room for a current limiting resistor if the OP sticks with his 5 volt power source.
A 2N2222 isn't a lot better at 5 volts.
A logic level MOSFET may be the next best bet but can the OP get them where he lives? Or, can the OP jack up his power source to a higher voltage?

matherp