Display decimal point on 7 segment LED

tedhill

I'm new to PICAXE, using a 28X, a MAX7219 driver, and four seven segment LEDs. I've gotten the LEDs to work using a Peter Anderson routine, and also an LM34 temperature sensor using one of Anderson's routines.

What I'd like to do is display the temperature (F) on the 7 segement LEDs using a decimal point; I can find many references on how to do this via serout to an LCD screen, but nothing showing something like 78.6 deg. F on the LEDs. Links to tutorials regarding manipulating variables and memory locations also sought.

Any help greatly appreciated.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
If you have succeeded in displaying, for example, "786", all that is needed is to set the msb of the data byte which needs the decimal point setting before the byte is transfered out to the MAX7219.

If say b0 holds the data to be output, this will set the msb ...

- b0 = b0 OR $80

As to tutorials regarding manipulating variables and memory locations the "PICAXE Manual 2 : Basic Commands" is the first place to look - the LET command describes the manipulation of variables, and the PEEK and POKE commands allow the storing and retrieving of variables in SFR ( "RAM" ).

tedhill

Thanks hippy- it *is* easy when you know how. Works fine now.

What should I study to know what I needed to know originally to answer my own question? (I did mention I'm pretty new to all of this computer chip stuff...)

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Everything is easy when you know how to do it !