Designing and building PCBs

Dicky Mint

Hi I'm an enthusiastic PCB designer and builder using the 'Sprint Layout' software.

I would like to gain some experience in designing and building single and double sided PCBs.

I have the intention of eventually making a modest profit but at first I am looking to gain some experience by fabricating boards for cost.

I don't know if there is any call here for bespoke PCBs from circuit diagrams or even first concept prototypes but you don't know 'till you ask!

My perspective is that I enjoy coming up with prototypes of electronic solutions to engineering problems and would like, one day, to make a modest living in this area.

Rick

geoff07

Questions, questions .. I'm sure many would like to have a low cost board fab process (one-off boards are expensive to have made professionally)

Are you planning to etch and drill the boards yourself?

Could you use other design software e.g. if I used Eagle to design a board, could you fabricate from the BRD file?

Are you planning to populate the boards and test them?

Dicky Mint

Hi geoff

First question first, yes I'm planning to etch and drill the boards and with Favorit rivets for plated through holes!

The second question is one which I'm sure will come up a lot but at the moment the answer is 'no' as I have been more interested in the design process than the etching, forgive me but I love Sprint Layout! It would certainly be useful for me to be able to make boards from BRD files and Gerbers so I will look into these possibilities if there s call for it.

As for populating and testing, if that were something which was required there would be no reason why not although my itinerary of test equipment could do with an overhaul! I think this service would bring with it its own quota of problems though not insurmountable, I hope.

As you've probably gathered its a work in progress but 'from Acorns...'

Rick

SAborn