CVT controller

pyrogaz

I'm completely new to Picaxe but was hoping to use it for the following project.

I'm assisting with the build of a small electric vehicle for racing (greenpower, seems to crop up on here quite often) and it will be fitted with a constantly variable transmission. The idea is to use picaxe to monitor the motor current and have it automatically adjust the gear ratio to keep the current as close as possible to a preselected level. We already have a current sensor (Hall Effect I think) in place for an off the shelf datalogger so we could possibly use that to provide the input? The output would need to drive a linear actuator or geared motor powered screw jack to adjust the gearing, drawing up to 2 amps at 24V.

Whilst we think we could get our heads around the code and realise we have to account for times when the motor is switched off, and allow some leeway in the response to stop the actuator running around in circles; we have no ideal where to start when it comes to selecting a picaxe board what we need to drive an actuator from it, any pointers would be very much appreciated. Thanks

BeanieBots

Welcome to the forum.

None of the ready made boards will directly give bi-directional drive at 24v @ 2A.
Depending on how and what you decide to use will determine how and what you need to add to a board's output for your needs.

I'd hazard a guess that you will need quite a fast and frequent change so a solid state solution would be required. Look up H-Bridges.

pyrogaz

Thanks for the welcome:)

I sort of suspected that 2A @ 24v would be out of the range of the boards but didn't really know what options are available, I'll take a look at H-Bridges