Creating a Run Back Timer?

TrueDoom

Heya, i'm doing a project for school, i wonder if any of you fine people could help me. Its a basic run back timer.

I need to make a run back timer that would be used on an immersion system, that heats water. When the button is pressed once it heats the water for a certain time, then turns off, if its pressed twice, it heats it for longer, and if pressed again, it wud take even longer. I'm assuming this is possible?

basically it shud be sumthin like this =>

Start -> input 6 -> LED lights up for five seconds, turns off unless input 6 is pressed again, if it is pressed then another LED becomes lit for 10 seconds then turns off unless Input 6 is pressed yet again and another LED lights up for 15 seconds.

Input ->1 LED, Input again -> 2 LED's, Input Again -> 3 LED's

the problem i have, is that pressing input 6 once, makes it run through all the decisions in the code, instead of stopping at the individual decisions.

I'm very new to this software so i'm very lost =/

also would it be possible to incorparate a temperature sensor into it? so that when it reaches a certain temp it will shut down the program straight away?

Dippy

Are you talking about a mains powered immersion heater?
Will your school / parents find this acceptable?
Can't you do something safer?
What experience do you have? (Doesn't sound like much if any).

No doubt your thread will start the usual Mains+Newbie Avalanche of Doom. So , do not do this without experienced assistance. Right that's that bit.

I would suggest posting your code as it stands as it sounds like you're not testing to see if the button has been released. However, my crystal ball has clouded over.
So post your code.

Sensors? Yes, of course. The right type in the right place. No problem. Don't forget a failsafe if your sensor fails/drops off.

But do the first bit first and do NOT get ahead of yourself. Get the input right and then you can move on.