Countdown Timer Using MAX7221

elec_mech

Hello All,

I'm new to PICAXE but I've written several PBP programs in the past. I'm working with Tracecom to help someone on another forum with a project. The other member doesn't plan to get into uC's much but wants the ability to modify the code so a PICAXE seemed like the ideal choice.

I've written the code as I would have for PBP, with the exception of adding a subroutine to bit-bang the SPI data to a MAX7221. While everything appears to work swimmingly, the timing is off - 10 seconds of countdown requires 15 seconds or more on the display.

In researching this further on this forum, I believe part of the problem is the PICAXE is taking more time than I realized to run the code because of the BASIC interpretation (vs. compiled code that I'm used to working with).

I didn't realize the frequency could be increased on the fly with the setfreq command. I gave that a shot and increased the frequency from 4MHz to 32MHz, the maximum frequency allowed on the 20M2 chip I'm using. This helped immensely, but when tested with a 60 second countdown, actual time was ~62 seconds. Not bad, but the timer could be set up to 99 minutes, so I'd really like to get the timing as close to spot on as possible.

I've attached my code and schematic. Code was too big to post in body of post.

I'm using the button commands in a subroutine and checking them during the countdown. When commented out, a 60 second countdown takes ~61 seconds. I wonder if it would be better set up the buttons as interrupts?