complete a curcuit with two pins?

orko007

I am new to using picaxe chips and am currently just starting a project. my electrical knowledge is limited so forgive me if my terms are incorrect. I have read through the tutorials and did not see an answer of what i would like to do so i thought i would ask if it is possible.

I am using an 08M chip and would like to have it setup so that when a button is pushed a connection is made between two of the output pins. from what i have read this does not seem possible and i will need to use an separate switching device such as an optocoupler. but if i could do it within the chip that would be great.

Thanks for any help.

BeanieBots

It's not possible to make a PICAXE have "volt-free" contacts but it may well be possible to do what you want. Please give more details about what needs to be switched. Otherwise, as you mention, an optocoupler or similar will be required.

PICAXE outputs can be made tri-state but they will still be bound by Vcc & 0v.

orko007

I am working with an xbox 360 controller which uses a separate circuit for each button X,Y,A,B. it is not like the original controller when i could simply pull the connection for one of the buttons to 0v and get a reaction.

image of a 360 pcb http://orko007.phpwebhosting.com/360.jpg
With the 360 you cannot just pull one side of the circuit to ground. In the picture you there is a button soldered to the two connections to operate the 'X' button.

hopefully this explains a little better.

But it sounds like with what beaniebot said, if outputs are bound to vcc & 0v then what i want to do is not possible within the picaxe chip.

Another question which i have not searched on yet. is it possible to use the ser in on an 08M and an input or output?

Edited by - orko007 on 06/08/2007 22:44:48

Edited by - orko007 on 06/08/2007 22:45:14

Tom2000