Can I use picaxe to convert a l2c signal to rca serial data?

tesladude

I am relatively new at picaxe and programing all together but can get my way around. I want to know if I can use a camera module like one of these

http://www.ebay.com/itm/640x480-0-3Mega-Pixel-CMOS-Camera-Module-OV7660-SCCB-I2C-compatible-W-OV7670-/271230081889?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3f26929b61

and use a picaxe to convert the stupid digital signal to a 1 line rca signal which I can transmit with an RF module. And before you suggest it,
yes I have looked for modules that already have an rca output and they are all above $30

Goeytex

This is not practical with a Picaxe. It simply does not have the processing power to do what you want.

Goeytex

Sure,

And there's tons of example code here on the Forum to draw from. It's basically an LCD module with a common parallel interface. It can be operated in either 8-bit or 4-bit mode ( 8 is a bit faster). Sometimes firmware ( a dedicated Microcontroller) is added to provide a Serial or I2C interface to the user.

These parallel modules need a lot of I/O pin to work, so you are not going to do it with an 8M2. You are looking at an 18 or 20 pin Picaxe if the Picaxe is going to do other stuff as well as control the display.

Forum members MARKS and nick12ab have posted a lot of good information/ code for these modules.

tesladude

lbenson, I think thats exactly what I need , (especially since I don't even have an 18m2 right now,) but I dan't want to just copy the program that was there, I really want to understand what the heck i'm typing because I've never hooked up an lcd or even interfaced with anything before so that was kinda lookin' like gibberish. So do you know if there is a page explaining how to use lcd for dummies or is it maybe something I could learn right here?

lbenson