Can I make this servo control code run faster?

Blazemaguire

Hi guys,

I'm starting to get more confident with the BASIC programming (if you've seen any of my previous posts, you'll know i'm a bit of a noob with the code - used to flowcharts) - anyhow, for my latest experiment i'm making a simple 'touch sensor' operated turrent - actuated by a normal micro hobby servo.

The code below works in practice, and it senses my 'touch' sensors fine (I just use a coil of solid core copper glue gunned to the back of a piece of plastic for the touch sensors). - It moves the 'turret' clockwise and anticlockwise as intended and stops when it reaches the programmed limits.

However, my bug bear is it's too slow for my needs - i'd like more rapid traverse. - I've removed all time delays from the coding, even tried running in 16mhz mode. - Basically it takes about 20 seconds of holding the touch pad down to move from one end of rotation to the other, which is too long for what I've got planned.

Am I on a hiding to nothing trying to get this operating faster? - is it a function of the touch sensing command taking up too much time in the program execution? - If it is, does anyone have any suggestions of other avenues I could explore? - I don't want a full answer, just a suggestion of another direction to follow.

thanks in advance

Code below:

'Touch sensing Servo Control MK1'

'connect touch pads to b.0 and b.1 on a PICAXE20M2

'connect servo to pin b.7

init:
symbol moveamount=1'this symbol is the 'amount' of each step back or forth (basically how much it moves per 'touch'
symbol clockwisebuttoncalib = 4700 'callibration value for my touch pads (clockwise button)
symbol anticlockbuttoncalib = 4100 'callibration value for my touch pads (anticlockwise button)
b9=150 'set variable to 150 so servo moves to midpoint
servo b.7,b9 ; initialise servo to midpoint

main:

turnclock: 'routine for rotating clockwise

touch16 b.0,w0 ; read value into w0 from touch sensor UP