another L293D question

BotB

but this time it's really stoopid...

Hey all, I'm new to PICs and recently purchased the 28X1 starter pack, I've got along superbly with simpler code for LED's and such but my main need is to controll motors... As such I purchased the L293D for the PICAXE board along with two little "toy" motors (the sort you get with the gears)...

Now I understand the code around making the motor go forwards and backwards...

start:
low 1
high 2
pause 1000
low 1
low 2
pause 1000
high 1
low 2
pause 1000
goto start:

but I've no idea what outputs to attach the motor too... I'm a complete novice with electronics so please bear with the dense question...

in short... what outputs do I attach the motor to?

Many thanks!

marcos.placona

The mottor will be connected to your L293D, and when it says low 1, that means (pin one low) and high two means (pin 2 high) and so on. To know the pin numbers, just go to the manual, and you'll see things like output 1, output 2 etc. Those are the pin numbers.

As you are sending data to the L293, you'll be using outputs. If you were receiving, you'd be using inputs

From this image:

You can see where you're gonna be connecting.

Any more questions please let us know, and we can even send you a more detailed example.

Rickharris

Good call Marcos - Just to underline for a beginner - The motor(s) is(are) connected to pins 3 and 6 and/or pins 14 and 11.

The signals from the picaxe are conected to pins 2 and 7 to control the left motor and pins 10 and 15 to control the right motor.

remember that the L293 is capable of providing around 1.2 Amps of current if you exceed that and the IC overheats it will cut out to protect itself - Many students wonder why their high current motor isn't working.

marcos.placona

With toy motors it should be fine. Even stalled they'll never go over 1 amp