5v and 12 supply

Denzel

I am using a 1.2 Ah 12v sla bettery to power a submarine im working on to survey river / lake beds.

I need to get a 12v supply for pumps/motors/lights etc and a 3.5/5v logic supply.
I have never done this before... Ive always used two seperate power supplies,

Could someone guide me in the right direction as to what I need to make this happen?
I was thinking about using a LM340T5 (7805), But i don't know how to set it up.

Cheers

Denz

papaof2

A switching regulator would be more effcient than an LM series device, which dissipates thevoltage drop as heat.
Sure Electronics has a couple of them on Ebay:

MC34063 based, up to 500ma output:
http://cgi.ebay.com/MC34063-Based-Switching-Regulator-Adapter-Step-Down_W0QQitemZ370171238656QQihZ024QQcategoryZ66990QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1713.m153.l1262

AX3022 based, up to 1.5A or 10 watts, whichever is smaller:
http://cgi.ebay.com/AX3022-Based-Switching-Regulator-Adapter-Step-Down_W0QQitemZ220376101998QQihZ012QQcategoryZ66990QQtcZphotoQQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1713.m153.l1262/URL] They are about $8US each, with free shipping. John

BeanieBots

Depends on what your load currents are for each voltage rail.
Any advice can only be guess work without such data.

A switcher might be needed but would be total overkill (and expense) if you're only pulling 3mA for a PICAXE.

How to connect and whatever other components (eg caps) are required will be be clearly laid out in the datasheet of whatever regulator you decide to go with.

Denzel