40 programmable LEDs

chopperwalker

Hello Everyone,

I just discovered PICAXE and I have no previous experience with microprocessors. I stumbled upon PICAXE when searching for a solution to an LED project I need to create. I have built a pretty sweet Beer Pong Table for a friend and I think it needs some flashing lights. I was going to do some hard wired sequencing pattern, but I am better at programing then circuit design and hence the microprocessor aproach.

My goal is to control 40 3.2 volt LEDs over 30 channels (20 LEDs on 10 channels, the rest have their own). I assumed at first that I would need the 40X1, but probably not since there only 8 outputs on most of these chips. I thought about using transistors and NAND gates with multiple chips, but I realized my idea might inadvertently set another LED to high. Seeing how this will be the first circuit design I ever take part in I though I could use some suggestions. If I can get this part down, I might expand it to take input to change patterns, have a distraction button and have other modes. I don't think I will have any of the lights stay on longer then a flash so I am going for battery power, too.

Like I said, I am new to this so if any could suggest better approaches, reading materials, and or the like I would greatly appreciate it. If anyone is a beer pong fan and would like to team up on this that would be awesome.

Thanks for your input,

Chopper

Tom2000

Howdy, Chopper,

Google up the data sheet for the MAX7219 LED controller chip. It will handle all your LEDs neatly. If it looks like it might do what you want, search this forum for MAX7219. There's been a lot of discussion of it, and code has been published to show you how to handle it with a Picaxe.

Good luck with your project!

Tom

PS - It'll never replace darts! :)

Last edited:

kranenborg