3 Wire Downloads

Fred Smith

Hi,

I am trying to learn more about the 3 wire downloading capabilities promoted with picaxe. I am a beginner and most sites I go to mention a MAX232 board. Can ANY PIC with a ANY bootloader do the same 3 wire programming?

Also, the manual mentions a better serial circuit by adding a 180 ohm resistor and a BAT85 diode. I am from the US and when I go to mouser to look for parts they only have a BAT46 shotkky diode. Is the BAT42 a direct replacement for the BAT85?

Thanks...

Thanks

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
Most bootloadable PICmicro devices are programmed to use an internal hardware UART ( Universal Asynchronous Receiver-Transmitter ) to communicate, and the chip needs to have the signals inverted from what a PC uses. This is why they need a MAX232 or similar circuit.

The PICAXE's use an alternative method ( bit-banging - a software only UART ) which allows the PICAXE to choose the signal polarity and permits a much simpler and cheaper download arrangement.

Any PICmicro could use the same mechanism as the PICAXE does, but most PICmicro bootloaders I've encountered use the internal UART.

I'm afraid I cannot answer the question on the BATxx diode. It is not essential in all cases so you can build the download circuit without one and use the PICAXE. It's only necessary in cases when reading analogue voltages (READADC/READADC10) when readings may otherwise change slightly between when the download cable is connected and when it isn't.

Fred Smith

Hi,

I looked in manual 3 early this morning, It looked like the 28pin X1 version was using the pins 6 & 7 which based on 16F886 is not TX & RX. I must have not figured it out correctly. I will have to go back and look it over again.

Thanks...

inglewoodpete

Fred, Tx and Rx are names for pins for the basic 16F886 chip. The 28X1 has a PICAXE 'operating system' which changes the way the chip behaves.