28x2 help...

I'm new to picaxe, but i have gotten other micros working (Propeller, Arudino) but i can't seem to get the 28x2 to work. I'm powering it with 5V and I'm using Sparkfun's 3.3V USB to Serial(3.3 Is logic high for 5 volts and I'm conditioning the TX from the picaxe). But the programming software doesn't detect it at all.

I'll post pictures if anyone requests them.

Also, Is there anyway to find out if the picaxe is functioning without the programming software (I.E the Arduino flashing a LED)

Thanks,
Matthew

Andrew Cowan

If you pull the serial in pin to V+, you should see some activity on the serial out pin.

That will confirm if the chip is working.

A

If you pull the serial in pin to V+, you should see some activity on the serial out pin.

That will confirm if the chip is working.

A
I wish i could see RX serial traffic, but somehow the USB-Serial is RX led is broken(Snapped Off?)

It's not sending any data back. (I used the terminal)

*Latest Update*
Seems like i made a wiring mistake, I put the wire AFTER the pull-up resistors. But i still can't program.

Last edited:

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member
Sparkfun's 3.3V USB to Serial(3.3 Is logic)
Check the polarity of the signal from this adapter - it may be inverted to what the PICAXE expects.
In the Programming Editor software see the View>Options>Serial Port>Test feature and follow the on-screen instructions.

Check the polarity of the signal from this adapter - it may be inverted to what the PICAXE expects.
In the Programming Editor software see the View>Options>Serial Port>Test feature and follow the on-screen instructions.
The led is off when the led on the serial test is on.

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
That does not look like the minimal download circuit to me; although not clear in the photograph it appears that the two resistors nearest the chip have both ends connected into the same breadboad tracks.