18x and 4d OLED-96-g1

juve021

Hey all, I'm a newbie poster but I have been a lurker for alittle while. I am having problems communicating with a 4d systems, oled display. When powered up, the oled display just scrolls the splash screen and does nothing else. I have output pin 2 connected to the RX of the OLED with a 100 ohm resistor in series. My code is as follows:

Code:
main:
pause 2000
serout 2,T2400,("U") 'autodetect baud rate for oled display
pause 2000
serout 2,T2400,("E") 'erase screen
pause 2000
serout 2,T2400,("B",$00,$00) 'set background color black
pause 2000
serout 2,T2400,("F",$46,$01) 'set larger (8x8) font size
pause 2000
serout 2,T2400,("T",$41,$00,$00,$ff,$ff) 'put letter A in color white at col,row 0,0
pause 10000
serout 2,T2400,("E") 'erase screen
pause 2000
serout 2,T2400,("s",$00,$00,$01,$86,$AF,$43,$61,$73,$63,$68,$79,$73,$20,$54,$65,$73,$74,$69,$6e,$67,$00) 'send "Caschys Testing" to the string in a green color
pause 10000
serout 2,T2400,("Y",$03,$00) 'OLED power down
end
Can someone help me out with this?

juve021

I''ve been racking my brain over this for the past few hours. I've tried pullup resistors on the the picaxe Tx line and still nothing. I put an LED on the output of the 18x and it seems to be working correctly, flashing here and there for byte codes output. The display just doesn't want to take anything at all! ARGGHHGHG

SD2100

Hi

I've never used one of these displays but have you tried changing the baud mode from T2400 to N2400 ???.

Also good to post a diagram of your circuit or a good photo in case there's something funny going on there.

Last edited:

jmumby

Should'nt you get an acknowledge back after you send the U? I would be checking to see if your getting that back before trying to send anything else. I have used these and they are a bit.....tempremental. But once you get them going they are alright.

moxhamj

I wonder if it is similar to the udrive. If so
high 2 ' must start with a high