XOR, EOR aaaaargh

miniglub

I'm new to the PICAXE world and although I've no problem with most of the bits and pieces, I'm stuck on this one.

Anyone using the exclusive OR command in basic.
I'm playing aroung with a 293 motor driver and following some instructions from a book on inverting the directional control bits.
PICAXE 28X
code code code etc

high 1 ' to set forward direction
low 2

motor driver code etc.

pin1 = pin1 ^ 1 'to reverse direction
pin2 = pin2 ^ 1

Have tried simulator, no change in outputs 1 or 2 with EOR
Have tried a very basic programme to EOR outputs but still won't work

HELP please!!!!

BeanieBots

Not too sure exactly what you are trying to do but you can't use "pin1" as both input and output at the same time.
Try this:-

b0=pin1
b0=b0 ^ 1
pin1=b0

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
@ BeanieBots : Yes you can :)

It probably doesn't do what is desired, because it sets Output Pin 1 to the inverse of Input Pin 1.

Not sure about "outpin1 = outpin1 ^ 1" ... worth a try.

BeanieBots

@ Hippy. On the same line? (pin1=pin1^1)
I would expect that to set output 1 to the inverse of input 1 which is what I understood WAS the desired effect.
Tried it in the simulator with unexpected results and (perhaps foolishly) assumed that is was due to the multiple assignment in one line causing the effect.
Not tried it on a real PICAXE.

b0=pin1
b0=b0 ^ 1
pin1=b0

gives the same result as I would expect from pin1=pin1^1
It also works in the simulator but again, not tried for real.

You're quite right hippy.
My PC must be as confused as me.
Just tried pin1=pin1 which worked fine.
tried pin1=pin1^1 and that worked fine too.
Now I'm bothered why I could have sworn it didn't work before

@miniglub
Maybe you should explain what you WANT it to do.
The lines of code do what I'd expect them to do.

Last edited:

miniglub

Thanks for coming back guys.

My aim is to enhance a rather static singing "Rudolph", and I'm doing a bit of testing prior to the final job.