Wood Clock (yes it is a Picaxe project)

alpacaman

It's a wooden clock with 2 gears. One for the minutes had and one for the hours. The gears are turned by levers wich are attache to a belt around some pulleys. The main pulley is turned by a rc servo.

A picaxe 08M converts the 60hz coming from the wall to a one minute pulse. Another 08M receives the one minute pulse and controls the servo.

I tried using a single 08M but because of the pauses required to let the servo travel a minute turned into 73 seconds.

Attachments

Dippy

I was , (by using a semi-rhetorical question), trying to suggest a note of caution if you were going to post details if there was a DIY mains voltage connection aspect.

It's a nice,attractive job you've done and therefore may have excited total novices to attach their PICAXEs to the mains voltage.
As you know there is a spectrum of experience/knowledge in the Forum.
Ranging from "very clever" down to "none and admits it", with a small contingent of "none, but I know more than anyone else".
Take the latter, stir in mains voltage and this could equal a painful result.
Maybe I'm being a bit nanny-ish ;)

Mycroft2152

It's a nice,attractive job you've done and therefore may have excited total novices to attach their PICAXEs to the mains voltage.
Ranging from "very clever" down to "none and admits it", with a small contingent of "none, but I know more than anyone else".
Dippy,

The DARWIN Award is always available.

Myc

alpacaman

I was , (by using a semi-rhetorical question), trying to suggest a note of caution if you were going to post details if there was a DIY mains voltage connection aspect.

Maybe I'm being a bit nanny-ish ;)