Windows 7 alternative?

eclectic

I have used Windows 7 for years and am happy with it.
But it will very soon disappear. : -(

I have a PC with Windows 10 which I do NOT like.
I also own a Mac.

Question. What can I use instead of W7 which is

1. Easy to install.
2. Reasonably easy to operate.
3. Can run PICAXE.

I've only heard of Linux, Debian and so on, but I have no experience of them.
I am quite happy with buying a new/refurbished Desktop for installation.

e

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
I'm with techElder. If it were me I would simply stick with Windows 7 until it no longer did what I wanted it to do.

Windows 7 is reported to have around 40% market share so is unlikely to stop working or actually disappear when it becomes unsupported. It will continue to be used and be usable just as XP was when support for that ended. In fact XP is reported to still have 3% market share, which is more than Linux on the desktop has.

Mainstream OS options are Windows, Mac, Linux, notionally Android, plus Chrome OS.

Which is best probably depends greatly on what one does. Windows is almost certainly going to be the preferred OS for running PICAXE desktop software on for the foreseeable future.

I don't particularly "like" Windows 10 but can live with it. Most of the time I am running applications which means it's not really much different in use than any other Windows OS.

kfjl

Try using Duck Duck Go ( or a search engine that spies on you if you prefer ) to search for Microsoft Linux. You'll see that Microsoft is silently migrating to Linux. I doubt that Microsoft will give you any warning or choice. Customer satisfaction is not a big consideration in a monopoly.

Ubuntu dual booting with Windows is probably the least painfull way of making the transition.

I stopped using Windows when I saw Vista.

kranenborg