Which instructions are affected by reduced oscillator speed?

Tvmender

Hi All

Please bare with me as I am still relatively new to PICAXE.

Can anyone tell me which of the instructions are affected by a reduced oscillator speed automatically by the PICAXE? I assume that all PICAXE part numbers will reduce the speed to execute the following?

Irin
Irout
SPE033 communication
LCD serial communication using the AXE131 interface board

Does the oscillator return to the previous speed automatically once the instruction is completed?

Can I use these instructions in one single program i.e. receive infra red then jump to output serial data for the SPE033 once the Irin routine is complete? I am aware of the loop in which the PICAXE waits for IR unless a timeout is triggered.

Thanks!

AllyCat

Hi,

Sorry, I need to answer your question with more questions, in particular: "Why Does it Matter to You (or your program)?" and "Why do you consider it necessary to increase the clock frequency in the first place?". There are of course "good" answers to all these questions (perhaps concerning PWM, Servos or the "time" variable), but you really are "Opening a Can Of Worms". Also you can't generalise that "all" PICaxe parts will behave in the same way (particularly between M2 and X2).

IMHO you should check the On-Line Command Syntax before you use them, but I believe that the commands which do reduce the clock frequency are related to InfraRed, Radio (RFIN/OUT), Keyboard (KBIN/OUT) and perhaps others. They should all restore the previous clock frequency after execution and you should be able to use them all in the same program. Then there are other commands which "only" work (correctly) at 4 MHz, but don't change the clock frequency, for example Ultrasonics and (arguably) Tune/Sound and even Pause/Wait, etc..