VL53L0X photon detector

julianE

I'll be ordering the VL53LOX TOF module, from little I've read about the sensor it's capable of detecting a single photon. I'm curious if anyone knows how to access just the detector portion of the module without using the laser portion. I'm thinking with a Scintillator screen the module could detect high energy cosmic rays. I have seen camera sensors used to detect cosmic rays but would think VL53LOX would be far better.

bag57pipe

I'm sorry if I'm wasting youre time but what you are doing piqued my curiosity I had to look up "ultra-high-energy cosmic rays" if that's what you are looking for, I was going to have a go at a SID detector (not in the same league) but gave up because of background noise. At a risk of making ass of myself (I was an electronic engineer but not a very good one) I had a quick scan of the datasheet and it looks like there is a lot of hardware (mostly DSP I suspect) between the avalanche diode and the output, they seem a little coy about giving precise details of the internals,. If you can access the raw data from what I can tell it is averaged therfore the one photon sensitivity is possibly due to the DSP processing giving a calulated one photon sensitivity not an actual single photon detection however I could be wrong. If using scintillator screen would a photo multiplier be any use, I suspect the big problem with any technique you use is the signal to noise ratio especially if any conversion is required. STM have a support forum https://community.st.com/s/ but it may or may not be much help. Have you had a look on the techlib site they have some science circuits that although they do not solve youre current problem it may be a source of inspiration. (http://techlib.com/science/index.html)

julianE