Using TSOP31240 in parallel

Tvmender

Hi All

Firstly, thank you for having me on the group. I am a relative newbie to PICAXE although I did once do a full qualification in MPASM many years ago. I am currently working on a few PICAXE projects.

My question is: Can I use the TSOP31240 directly in parallel (I need 3 this way) or do they need separate input pins on the PICAXE or buffering circuitry between them?

Many thanks!

AllyCat

Hi,

Welcome to the forum. IMHO a (N)AND gate is unlikely to do anything "useful". That sensor appears to be intended for optional (Active Low) "Wired OR" connection, i.e. either "sensor1" OR "sensor2" OR "sensor3" can pull the (linked) output pins Low. A (N)AND gate will behave in exactly the same way, i.e. any input going Low can "Activate" its output (or Deactivate it, according to your point of view). The main difference is that a NAND gate will give an "Active High" output (i.e. "True" = binary "1").

Presumably the reason for using multiple sensors is to increase the "field of view" (it's unlikely to increase the sensitivity for a "direct" IR signal)? The only issue might be if any (one) of the sensors is subject to "interference" from another IR source. That could potentially block reception of the "desired" signal, whether you use a Wired-OR or a "real" OR/AND gate. In that case you would need separate inputs from each sensor, and separate decoding software inside the PICaxe for each channel, which could be quite problematic, not just for a PICaxe.

Cheers, Alan.

inglewoodpete

Yes, you can use three (or more) IR receivers wired in parallel and mounted back-to-back to make a 360-degree receiver (on, say a remote controlled toy vehicle or robot).

Use a single pull-up resistor to give an idle-high output. When one or more IR receivers detect a modulated IR signal they will pull the output line low while the signal is present.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member