Using single input to control multiple outputs or actions.

johndimo

Hello all. I'm new to using picaxe microntrollers and looking to learn as much as I can about them to see what I can do with them. I have a strong background in electronics (13 years experience) but haven't done any programming since college back when I used assembly language and worked with the 68HC11 Motorola chips.

I can do small easy stuff no problems, but I would like to learn more complicated things. I've already built a simple single input, single output project for my kitchen and it works well.

What I'm trying to accomplish is to use a single button that can handle multiple output actions. So for instance, pressing once will do one thing, and pressing it again will do something else.

Here's the code I have now that I have been testing and it works well. But I'm not sure if it is an unorthodox or long way of doing what I want. If there is a simpler or less space wasting way of doing it, I'm all ears. I'm just looking to see if I'm on the right track or if I'm wasting precious space with unnecessary code.

Code:
init:
	symbol led = 2 ;set led as an output on pin 2
	symbol inp = pin3 ;set inp as an input on pin 3
	b1 = 0 ;initialize led state variable	

main:
	if inp = 1 AND b1 = 0 Then ;checks if button is pushed and if led state is off
		high led	;Turn on LED
		sertxd("LED should be ON",13,10) ;Send message to computer
		b1 = 1 ;Change led state to on
		gosub btnheld
	end if

if inp = 1 AND b1 = 1 Then ;checks if button is pushed and if led state is on
		low led ;turn off led
		sertxd("LED should be OFF",13,10) ;send message to comp
		b1 = 0 ;Change led state of of
		gosub btnheld
	end if
	goto main

btnheld: 
	do loop while inp = 1 ;Do nothing until button is released
	pause 50 ;Small pause for debounce
	return