Using a single cell LIPO to power an 8M2 or 14M2

I am planning to use an 8M2 or a 14M2 on a project to drive 8 UV LEDs. Considering using a 3.7V LIPO. What can I expect to happen when the voltage of the LIPO drops below 3V

PhilHornby

The Picaxe will keep running - potentially down to as low as 1.8V (I believe), depending on what internal hardware is configured. I'd assume you'd need to monitor the supply voltage and 'sleep' when you get down to some minimum safe voltage, to avoid damaging the LIPO.

It would probably stop being able to drive the LEDs at some point before this - whether this 'point' would be ok for the LIPO, I don't know.

(I'm not a LIPO expert ;) )

(This clashed with @inglewoodpete 's message - but, what the hell, I've typed it in now :) )

AllyCat

Hi,
What can I expect to happen when the voltage of the LIPO drops below 3V
As already said, the main "concerns" should be with the LiPO and the LEDs, not the PICaxe. As far as I can see, UV LEDs require a forward voltage of more than 3v (as do white and blue LEDs); also, LiPO cells should not be discharged below about 3 volts (and might/should contain a "protection" chip to switch off any output drain below this voltage). But an 08M2 will keep "working" down to about 2.2 volts and the 14M2 to about 1.8 volts. Note that the PICaxe can use its CALIBADC instruction to measure the (battery) supply voltage without any additional components or pin connections.

I don't know how you plan to drive 8 LEDs from a (4 output pins) 08M2 but don't expect the PICaxe to deliver anything near to 20 mA through each pin at 3 volts. The graphs (e.g. FIGURES 31-43/44) towards the end of Section 31 of the relevant base Microchip Data Sheet shows that at 3 volts supply, you can expect about 4 mA pull-up or 10 mA pull-down current for each pin, with a 0.5 volt drop.

Cheers, Alan.

geezer88