USB Programming Cable

pssmith

I started playing around with PicAxe chips several years back - when every PC came with a serial port. Recently, I needed an axe for a project so pulled some old 18A's out and promptly realised that my main PC has no serial port. Ordered a USB cable from techsupplies, installed the drivers, plugged everything in and ... trouble.

First 08 board I tried it on didn't work, so I tried in on a 40x and it did work. I then wired up an 18A on breadboard and ... it didn't work. I pulled an old 18A board fitted with an HBridge and that did work. I tried swapping various 18 parts into my new board and one of them worked ... once. Having found one reliable board, I used it for the prototype (which is just to drive a small water pump every few hours to water/rinse beansprouts while they grow). An 18 is a bit of a waste though so I ordered some new 08M's. I also googled and read everything I could about picaxe USB problems and searched in here.

The 08M's arrived today so I soldered up one of the little project boards and ... that worked! Flushed with success, I wired one up on breadboard and it too worked! Giddy (almost) with the consistency I tried swapping in the 08M's and checking them, 4 out of the 5 seem to work on the breadboard but one just refuses - it will respond to a firmware check but won't complete a program download.

So, I'm stumped. I suspected some power supply problem but in the last test I did, the power supply didn't change and yet 1 of the new 08M's will not play ball. I presume it isn't dead or it wouldn't respond to a firmware check. I haven't checked yet but I suspect if I plug the same kit into a serial port to program it, it will work.

So anyone any ideas? Is USB known to make individual axes more flakey or intollerant?

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member