Two things at once? (newbie)

jodicalhon

Hi all, I'm totally new to the picaxe (or any microcontrollers) and have just got a couple of 08's and started mucking about. Built myself a rather dodgy looking download cable and resurrected an old breadboard to stick the circuit on.

After blundering about for a while, I have successfully downloaded a few minor (LED flashing) programs.

I've managed to attach an LDR to the ADC input, check its performance in the debug window, and write a program (heavily plagiarised!) to flash an LED when the light is above a certain level, and sound a two-tone alarm using a piezo element when the light level drops.

So far, so good!

How do I get the LED flashing and the piezo sounding at the same time? That is, when the light level drops, how do I organise a visual as well as audible alarm?

Thanks for any help on this. I'm having fun so far!

Jo C

ylp88

First of all: <i>WELCOME TO PICAXE!!! </i>

If the piezo has in-built oscillation circuitry (as many do) it should be simple. Just connect the piezo to an output pin and the LED to another. Then it is as simple as using the HIGH command to activate the piezo then going to the part of the code which makes the LED flash.

I won't post code just to let you have a try first. It is always more satisfying tackling the problem yourself (with minor help included ;) ). If you are still stuck, just give us a shout and I (or one of the many othe great people 'round here) will give you more guidance!

Best of luck...

<i><b>ylp88 </i> </b>

<i>(yay! 600th post...) </i>

ADDENDUM: Some people also recommend the use of a catcher diode across a mechanical buzzer in order to protect the PICAXE from reverse EMF and voltage spikes caused by the buzzer.

Edited by - ylp88 on 11/8/2005 10:42:01 AM

MartinM57

Depends if you want an academically elegant software solution or you want an engineering solution that does what you want...