TIG welding advice

BrendanP

This one is bit from left field but theres such a high level of expertise here on the forum I thought it worth while asking. Somebody might be a welder or have experience with TIG welding on some level.

I have to fabricate some proto aluminium housings for a picaxe driven project.

I have a ESAB 180 amp MIG welder which I can use to weld aluminium if I make a few mods to it.

Is is it possible using the MIG I have to get a good result or am I better off to go and get a TIG to weld light sheet? (~3mm)

I have read that it is common practice to use a push/pull gun on a MIG when using ally wire, is this critical?

I have seen some cheaper TIG welders on ebay, are these worth considering or are they rubbish. I've seen guys on site using Fronius TIGs, I think they're the top end. Am I going to get significantly better result with a top end machine like that as opposed to a cheapo unit?

Last edited:

slurp

Proceed With Care

I'm no welding expert but through previous employment I've seen some of the problems aluminium welding can pose.

You need to be aware of the gases that are given off when welding aluminium. I would not dream of starting without good extraction and a forced air mask.

I doubt I'm the best person to comment on differing welding techniques or benefits of pre-heating material, particularly where there are material of differing sections so I'll stop here.

Best regards,
Colin

manuka

-fabricate some proto aluminium housings for a picaxe driven project.
Is this really worth a new welder!? I've wrestled with a few modern welding technologies & swear by MIG, but (as I'm sure you know) aluminium welding can involve hassles while techniques are perfected. Why weld anyway? For a prototype bolts/screws/rivets may be more versatile. Stan.

BrendanP

Thanks Stan.

I need to cap off ~100mm ally tube and attach PV panel mounts onto it etc.