switchmode supply LM2596

marks

Build a switchmode supply for your picaxe based on the LM2596-adj
Have been using this for a while but finaly got arround to doing a drawing,
so thought I would share as surprising these work really well providing a nice clean supply and no heat lol!
and handy too able to use those header leads to power projects.

The design is really based arround a 16v ac plugpack I aquired and other parts I could scrounge.
But other dc plugpacks could also be used.
The voltage is adjustable from 1.25v dc to 5.35v dc basically the range of our picaxe!
testpoint 1 is for when we are using the ac plugpack providing a 50hz signal we can use in future projects lol.
Building your own does allow your to fine tune things to your own requirements
and provides a learning step to next bigger project in mind.

Attachments

marks

I'm not very good at question time but I'll try lol.just reading the datasheets like every one else...

I did say I scrounged the parts I had was actually
a 150uH ring inductor core 13.1mmOD X 8.7mmH 49 turns of 0.6mm copper winding wire.
to create a 68uH inductor I reduced to 32 turns.
A normal 68uH ring inductor (3amp) would have 40 turns of 0.72mm copper wire core about 13mmOD x 5.3mmH

for the filter core 20mmL x 6mmD was a 55uH radial inductor 0.5mm copper wire
I reduced this to 10 turns creating a 4 uh inductor.
those small radial 3.3uh (2amp) 6x8mm inductors they have on ebay would be ideal.

Using a slighty higher inductor value reduces swith current allowing me to use the In5822 (3amp) catch diode and supply which I had.
I thought I'd better road test it a bit
set to maxmium 5.35v when a 1amp load applied volage drops to 5.32v inductors remain cool and noise free filter works extremely well
the only thing I didnt like the bridge rectifier gets warm suprising as i'm only feeding it with 16 v and about 500ma