SRF005 sensors to work through the PICAXE-18 Project Board

WAVE123

I am a teacher at a secondary school in England and I am trying to get SRF005 sensors to work through the PICAXE-18 Project Board that my student use in their microcontroller project. For programming of these boards we use Picaxe editor and the flowchart programming.
I have 3 pin SRF005 sensors (with pin 4/5 on the 5 side connected as required) but I can not find a way to get a read out from the Sensor.
I have put SIG pin in C1 (output directly to the picaxe chip), the centre pin goes to +voltage and the 0V pin goes to ground.
I have use the flow chart elements ULTRA and then DEBUG as suggested in SRF005 data sheet but I don't get any response from Sensor - no changes seen in varA.
Has anyone successfully attached a SRF005 to a Picaxe-18 Project board? if so how.
Or does anyone have any suggestions about what I am doing wrong.
Thank you for any help

AllyCat

Hi,

Welcome to the forum. You might struggle to get a definitive answer because most members don't program with Flowcharts and probably don't have a SRF005 or a PICaxe-18 Project Board (me included) to test the hardware. It's generally recommended to post your complete Program (in Basic) and detailed photograph(s) of the electrical connections, since many errors can be quite "obvious" to regular users. The most common problems are hardware-related such bad or incorrect solder joints and here it seems important to connect both pins 4 and 5 of the SRF005 header to ground.