square one

olden

I thought I was making progress but I've gone to the start. I've learnt by my mistakes but they seem to have returned regardless. I tried to load a new mini test program to try something else and it worked. I tried 3rd test program nothing happened. So I went back to the beginning and tried from there - nothing. I've tried new batteries, changed the LED's, changed resistors, checked all wiring with my meter, both resistance and voltage, all connections 3 times, all seemed to be all right. Now I know I'm new at this (still trying to get used to programming), followed the book step by step about putting a new program in the 08M chip but I'm not getting anywhere.
I must have messed it up with programming because everything else checks out. Any body got anysuggestions? http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/images/icons/icon9.gif
Unhappy

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Are the downloads themselves successful ? Does the PICAXE identify itself correctly when using the View->Options->Mode->Firmware? button ?

BrendanP

Its helpfull to have another picaxe of the same type as the one your using on hand to swap in case the picaxe itself is malfunctioning. Its unlikely that the part would be faulty 'out of the box'. It may of been damaged through a 'oops' type mistake. ie. revese polarity connection.

My experience is that if I can't find a problem after a reasonable amount of time its best to call its quits for a while and come back to it the next day or even just after few hours break. Often the soloution to a problem will come to me spontaneously when I'm off doing something else.

Developing a good problem solving MO/attitude is critical for working in electronics and will be very helpfull to you in life in general. The harder the problem the greater the thrill when you solve it.

Don't despair, everyone on this forum has been through the learning curve that youre now navigating.

olden