'Sinking' an LED - 2 power rails involved

Jstosic

Beginner here.... I have a simple question, yet, may sound like a dumb question so please bare with me…

When using an output pin to SINK, does it matter what voltage is applied to the other end of the device? Like, can it be higher? In my case, the device is a simple LED.

The reason I ask this is because another section of my circuit is a 555 astable (clock) running off 12-volts, and the clock output is connected to the anode of the LED with a 560-ohm resistor connected in series, and then the cathode of the LED is connected to the Picaxe output pin. So the result would be the LED would only flash when the Picaxe output pin is low (assuming the clock is operating).

N.B. Both 5 and 12 volt supplies share common ground and the Picaxe is connected to the 5 volts, of course.

So would this be allowed in this scenario, or must I use a transistor to do this because of the voltage difference?

Thanks.

westaust55

Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

The answers is YES, it does matter.

In more detail, you do not say which PICAXE you have but to be safe . . .

the reason is that when the Output is chnaged to an input which can be done to some pins on some PICAXE chips, the input would see the entire voltage on the other side of the LED and fry the PICAXE IO.

Likewise when the output was made high to turn the LED off, the higher voltage to the LED would still impress a current through the LED and into the PICAXE IO and again could (ie likely to) fry it.

So all bad news.

As you say the option is to use a transistor as a switch between the PICAXE and the LED. Have a look at PICAXE Manual 3 page 9 for the basic circuit.

Then the question arises, why are you using a 555 at all? :confused:
The PICAXE could control the LED entirely unless you need the 555 and high voltage for some other undisclosed circuit

Last edited:

Jstosic

Welcome to the PICAXE forum.

The answers is YES, it does matter.