SEROUT or PWMOUT to replicate Gamecube analog stick output?

wafers

Hello all, I'm starting a project very similar to the rapidfire Xbox controllers that have been mentioned here. The differences are that I hope to use a Gamecube controller and take control of the analog stick as well as the buttons. I'm quite new to this & have a few questions that I'm hoping someone can clarify so that I'm sure I can handle this project with a Picaxe before I begin.

I've browsed through the Picaxe manuals and it seems that I should be able to pull this off with either SEROUT or PWMOUT.

Here's an image of an N64 stick, which I assume is similar to the GC controller- http://www.modded-by-bacteria.com/images/joy1.jpg

My understanding is that the GC stick is read optically and digital output is generated directly from these readings; does that sound right? If this is the case, then PWMOUT may not be useful.

This (http://int03.co.uk/crema/hardware/gamecube/gc-control.htm) article on the GC controller protocol suggests that the controller sends strings of 4 bit and 8 bit data to the console via a serial interface, perhaps I could use SEROUT to output data to the data line as well?

On another forum I read-
Remove the potentiometer leads going to the controller and run them to a PIC instead. The microcontroller would then relay the variable voltage back to the controllers joystick input. But then you would also have the ability to program the PIC to use macro functions that could send out the varied voltage output as desired. This would require an Anolog-2-Digital converter for the joystick. And due to space, you would want them to be serial interface to the PIC.
Is this necessary or does an easier solution exist? Does anyone have experience with the GC controller? How difficult do you think this task would be to a new user?

Thank you!

boriz

Welcome.

“How difficult do you think this task would be to a new user?”