Serial LCD question

pcoyle

I work in a school and several of the “A” Level students have designed circuits that incorporate the frm010 and serial lcd 16x2 display that have been traditionally bought through the picaxe store in previous years. I see now that while the frm010 is still available, the serial lcd module has been discontinued. I was hoping that you could advise me of an alternative module that could be wired in to the already made pcbs?

pc

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
I believe many LCD and OLED displays with a single-row connector should be compatible with the FRM010 wiring. The connection for AXE133 boards is as follows, and any display usable with the AXE133 should be usable with a FRM010 compatible connector -
Code:
.--------.--------------------------------------------------------.
|  O   O | O   O   O   O   O   O   O   O   O   O   O   O   O   O  |
`--------^--------------------------------------------------------'
  16  15   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  11  12  13  14
  A   K    0V  V+  Vo  RS  RW  E   D0  D1  D2  D3  D4  D5  D6  D7
Actual pin numbering may vary depending on where numbering starts. Some backlit LCD's may have the A and K on the right hand side after D7. They can still be used if the pins are not fitted or fitted pins bent out of the way. OLED displays do not usually have a backlight connection.

The important thing is to ensure the "0V" pin on the board connector aligns with "0V" of the LCD or OLED.

"Vo" is the contrast adjustment pin; not usually used with OLED, but normally not connected on an OLED display board so they can still be drop-in replacements for LCD displays.

The initialisation timing for OLED displays can be slightly different to that for LCD. I recall OLED can be used with FRM010 but cannot off-hand point to any confirmation of that.

The only displays to avoid I believe are those which don't have the same pin sequence or expect the "Vo" voltage to be a negative voltage.

pcoyle