Programming the Picaxe to display on the Seven Segment Display

taesoon737

I am new to picaxe so i am finding it very difficult to get use to it. I am using 'let all pins = b0' command so all whatever the value of b0 will be displayed on the seven segment display. But i dont want all the pins to equal to b0 but only 4 of them so i can use other pins to do something else. Can you please give me a solution???

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
You can set individual pins using "let pin0=" and similar which won't change any other pins. You can also access individual bits of 'b0' using 'bit0' and similar.

Putting both together, say you have your display on pin0-pin3 and the bits you need to copy are in bit0-bit3 ...

let pin0 = bit0
let pin1 = bit1
let pin2 = bit2
let pin3 = bit3

If you need to do that in a number of places you an put it all in a subroutine and then call it when needed using GOSUB.

taesoon737

Thank You!!
So would this display 1 to 59 on my seven segment display:

for b0 = 0 to 59
let pin0 = bit0
let pin1 = bit1
let pin2 = bit2
let pin3 = bit3
high portc 1
pause 250
high portc 2
pause 250
high portc 3
pause 250
wait 59
pause 250
next b0

HertzHog

7 segment displays.

I too do not understand your question. I have recently been using a single 7 segment display + decimal point.
In my case all the segments are controlled by different pins on the picaxe say 0-7 e.g. 8 pins.
Each digit is made up of a combination of segments. The segments are labelled 0-7 Starting at the top with 0 and going clockwise. The middle segment is 6 and the decimal point is 7.
So, to build up a digit 8 you need them all high. In my case I use
High 0,1,2,3,4,5,6 to switch on and Low ... to switch the segments off
The other numerals are constructed by selecting the segments needed.
To count I have a case structure for each digit and turn on the appropriate segments for each digit.