Problems downloading to Picaxe

Innes

I am having problems downloading to some new picaxes. I think I have exhausted virtually all possibilities, so I thought I'd explain the problem together with what I have tried with the hope that someone can spot something obvious - or maybe not so obvious...

I have three picaxe 18X chips and one picaxe 18 (which came on the 18pin standard project board (CHI030).

When I started experimenting (I'm new to picaxe last week!), I was using the 18 on the project board and downloading without any problems - I think I had one memory verification error in the many (hundreds?) of downloads that I did. This is still the case, so I'm happy with 18.

I then put an 18x on the project board and that was also OK, but I was having maybe 5% memory verification errors on download.

I then built a breadboard circuit (including download components) for further experimentation and the above results were pretty similar - say 99%+ success for the 18 and 95% success for the 18x.

I then tried a different (brand new straight out of anti-static container) 18x on my breadboard and was getting more like 99% <i>failure </i> on downloading the software, making it unusable. The same is happening with a 3rd brand new 18x which I put onto the CHI030 project board.

To summarise:

18 - download success 99%+ of the time
18x(1st) - download success 95% of the time
18x(2nd) - fails download 99%
18x(3rd) - fails download 99%

Notes:

I have tested the above on both the CHI030 project board and my own breadboard circuit and the results are repeatable.

I am using a USB to Serial adaptor provided by Tech-Supplies. I have tested using the download cable supplied with the project board and also with my own home-made download cable with no difference in results.

I have tested using 3x1.5V batteries (brand new and also replace during testing). I have also tested with a 4.5V bench PSU and a home-made 5V regulated supply (based on 7805 regaultor).