PICAXE VSM - Clunky or me?

Steevo25

Just thought I would add a quick post here as I have not long ago purchased VSM.

I come from using Circuit Wizard (which obviously doesn't support the PICAXE and is purely general components) and now I am getting back into PICAXE I thought VSM would be a great addition for testing things before building them for real.

It may well be me as I am new to using it, but so far I have found it quite difficult to use and fairly non-intuitive. For example, I thought I would start with something very simple just to get used to the software so I created a circuit with a 12v power supply (most of the stuff I do is on 12v) with a 5v regulator, a switch and an LED/Resistor. When you press the switch, the PICAXE detects you are pressing the switch and turns the LED on. The LED anode is connected to 12v and the cathode to a PICAXE output pin via a transistor. This is not about the circuit, as I have a fully functioning version of this so it is just purely to learn VSM. Even setting up the power supply was long winded. I am used to just dragging a power supply on to the screen editing it's properties and saying 12v or whatever. I could add as many as I wanted and change the voltage there and then. On VSM it seems you have to go in to a completely seperate menu to do it and is made quite confusing when you get there. It even took a while to get used to the fact that on some components, pins were hidden. On all the components there is a line on the screen that reads '<text>' but I haven't worked out how to edit that yet.