Picaxe spot welder controller

UAX

I'm new to Picaxe and would like to start with this project. I don't have much experience in programming anything except a little Visual Basic on the PC. I have already experimented with the Picaxe Editor / simulator and I'm suprised how simple the basics are.

I've built a battery tab spot welder which I'd like to upgrade with a Picaxe controller. The welder uses a 12V car battery, 10x irf1324 mosfets and a MCP1407 mosfet driver which I'd like to control with the Picaxe. The Picaxe should generate a short pulse ( a few ms), a short pause and a welding pulse (5-50ms). The pulses will be adjusrable with a potentiometer but that's pretty simple.

My questions are:

- Will the Picaxe generate these short pulses accurately (enough)?

- The mosfet driver needs a >1.8V logic HIGH and <1.3V logic LOW input so it can be connected directly to an output of the Picaxe? Do I need a pulldown resistor on the Picaxe output?

Thanks!

Circuit

Welcome to the PICAXE forum - and with such an interesting project!

Yes, you can generate the short pulses; the PULSOUT command is calibrated in 10 microsecond units at the slowest clock-speed. (See http://www.picaxe.com/BASIC-Commands/Digital-InputOutput/pulsout/ )
No, you should not need a pulldown resistor on the PICAXE output; the logic LOW and HIGH specifications are within your limits. (edit: I thought that the intervening driver would hold the circuit whilst the PICAXE pin floated on power-up but I stand corrected).
My only thought is that having such a huge current pulse running near a PICAXE chip could give some problems with interference. The control circuit may need a metal enclosure and be prepared for some unexpected resets.