Picaxe hiccup

Protezoid

Hi group

This is my first post. I have been programming Picaxe for 2 months now and experimenting with RGB bleeder effect to learn commands. When i close my desktop neon lamp to better see the rgb LED, the picaxe jumps in the sequence of colors like it was disrupted. Both are connected to the same surge protected ac supply extension cord. The 14m2 is powered on a standard 7805 circuit, a capacitor recommended for all ICs is also between V+ and 0v. Besides this glitch, everything works well. Is the picaxe sensible to high voltage transformers like ones used to power neons or is there a way to prevent this for future project where disrupting devices should be connected on the same ac power outlet?

Thanks,
Protezoid

premelec

Welcome to this forum... it's hard to know from your description just what the situation is - perhaps you could post a picture - when you refer to to neon lamp it could be a 15,000 volt unit or 50 volt and a transformer or flyback etc... One thing for sure is that you should tie down all unused PICAXE inputs and bypass the PICAXE power pins close to the socket with at least .1 uF ceramic cap. Have you tried electrostatic shielding? Strong electric fields can certainly affect electronics such as a PICAXE...

Goeytex

Is the picaxe sensible to high voltage transformers like ones used to power neons or is there a way to prevent this for future project where disrupting devices should be connected on the same ac power outlet?
All CMOS devices are sensitive to high level noise spikes, especially microcontrollers that are designed to reset with a low voltage power spike.

Having the Picaxe power source and and neon lamp (transformer) on the same "extension cord" is a generally bad idea, especially if the lamp is a cheapo made in you know where with no noise suppression.

1. Connect any unused Picaxe Pins to ground through a 10K or 4K7 resistor.
2. Move the lamp as far away from the Picaxe as possible and see what happens.