Picaxe and PicBasic Pro?

artswan

As a microcontroller hobbyist, I enjoy working with both Picaxe and Picbasic Pro for PIC Microcontrollers. Picbasic Pro has been around a lot longer, but I notice a lot in common with the Picaxe commands. Did the developers of Picaxe intentionally develop Picaxe software to be so similar to Picbasic Pro or was that just coincidental?

westaust55

From website comments like:"
Since 1997 Revolution have been working with the Higher Still Development Unit and SCCC to produce an new 'Systems and Control' teaching system for the new Technological Studies Courses."
Rev Ed has beena round at least since 1997.

likewise for MikroElektronika:
"MikroElektronika was established in 1997 as a publishing company specialized in electronics."

Revolution Education started with the CHIP FACTORY as a programmers with a range of applciation/proto boards more than 10 years ago (pre 2000).
I believe that you will find the originals of the PICAXE were initially more aligned to the Parallax BASIC Stamp than Mikroelectronika’s PICBASIC Pro compiler.

So I suspect that both companies developed around the same time in parallel but not linked.

Last edited:

artswan

Ummmm, the PicBasic Pro compiler I am referring to is not a MikroElectronika product. It is manufactured and sold by microEngineering Labs, Inc. Here is their website: http://store.melabs.com/cat/software.html

Also, when Picbasic was first introduced by microEngineering Labs, Inc. it's first incarnations were in DOS (remember that?). I know Picaxe programming software does not go back that far!

Last edited:

westaust55

PICBASIC Pro (by MeLabs) history indicates:

Initial Release: 2.00 no date but not a prior Pro release
First version with a data is:
Previous Release: 2.40 (September 2001)

And I see comments like”
At V2.4 = “Changes REV to be more compatible with BS2.”
At V2.1 = “Rearranged bit handling for BS2 compatibility.”