Novice Question

Scott Thomas

Hi Folks,

I'm new to this and this is my first post. My program was progressing well then I found a loop in it. I skinnied it down so I could post it and it looks nothing like it did, but the loop is still there. I must be doing something silly. Please point me in the right direction. I'm using an 18x.

symbol Speaker = 3
symbol i = b2

main:
for i = 1 to 60

SerTxD ("Pausing", 13, 10)

pause 5000 'There should be a 5 sec pause between sounds

SerTxD ("Calling Cycle_Relay", 13, 10)

gosub Sub_1

SerTxD ("Returned from Cycle_Relay", 13, 10)

next

end

Sub_1: 'This is where it get's stuck looping and does not return. When working properly they'll be a pause
' between the beeps.
SerTxD ("Sub_1", 13, 10)

gosub Sub_2

gosub A_sound ' short sound

SerTxD ("Returning from Sub_1", 13, 10)
return

Sub_2:
SerTxD ("Entered Sub_2", 13, 10)
gosub Sub_3
Return

Sub_3:
SerTxD ("Entered Sub_3", 13, 10)
gosub Sub_4
return

Sub_4:
SerTxD ("Entered Sub_4", 13, 10)
gosub a_sound
return

A_sound:
sound Speaker,(70, 100)
return

Dippy

Scott,
you are bit keen on calling subroutines within subroutines within subroutines within subroutines.
Poor thing won't know where its coming from.
Both it and you can easily end up in a big heap (I won't say stack) ;)

Honest, have another go planning this out with paper and pen as a flowchart.
Try and sequence things.

And honest again, I took one look at it and went cross-eyed :)

It's sometimes better to have a main loop and pop out into a subroutine and back.
Remember, there is a limit to how 'deep' subroutines can go. Go beyond that and baaarff!
Poor thing can't remember where it came from.

Honest, just once again. Have another go at writing it.
When it's a more logical sequence you (and we) will be able to understand the flow.
AND it's more likely to work.

And believe me, you will NOT follow that code when you look a it again in a months time.
...especially as there are so few comments ;)

Andrew Cowan