novice 'old boy' at electronics

olden

Hi everyone.
I'm just learning electronics, (series/parallel resistors stage), and I'm trying different ways to learn as I'm completely on my own. I've got the 'PICAXE'-28X1 as it looks like another learning tool that might help. I've briefly looked at the starter pack and its made me want to get going. C:rolleyes:an anyone with experience tell me that I am going too fast and need to learn more of the basics, (which I'm doing anyway), before using picaxe, or would picaxe use help me a lot better now. I don't want to snow myself under with too much and too quick. I'd be grateful for any advice. Thank you. http://www.picaxeforum.co.uk/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif
:rolleyes:

geoff07

My advice is to buy the green book advertised by Rev-ed. This will teach you picaxe and basic electronics, and give you examples that 'just work'. It will also help you appreciate just what else you need to learn. I would also buy some of the small kits (I use the 08 proto board a lot for trying simple things out) and some 08M controllers. As long as you have a suitable soldering iron you could make some interesting things quite easily. Once you need more bits and pieces, you might also try your nearest Maplin shop or online. You will soon figure out what to do next.

staylo

I second the recommendation for the big green PICAXE book. Excellent range of examples and a good reference, though it's becoming a little outdated (impossible to keep pace with the constant updates to the PICAXE range, I guess) the basics stay the same.

For sourcing getting-started components I was about to recommend fastcomponents.co.uk , who had a fantastic range of basic components such as resistor and capacitor kits, neatly labelled in plastic bags at low prices. Unfortunately they don't seem to be selling these any more! Hopefully that's just temporary. I find their breadboards with 50 generously sized jumper cables are very useful for prototyping though.

hippy