No Address assigned to Variables, and Add Item (By Name) disabled in the Watch Window

codeOwl

Hi there,
I have taken an interest in electronics, and decided to learn how to program PICAXE chips. I have no prior electronics knowledge, but have 10 years as computer programmer, mainly in C#. I saw PICAXE VSM and like the concept of being able to and workout your circuit in a virtual environment, where you are not going to blow up chips, as well as you can set breakpoints in the code and step through it etc... I have purchased PICAXE VSM, and soon found, to my great disappointment, that it does not support the M2 chips, and the saga of when it will has been going on for years. But I figure oh well, I will press on as there is much I can learn on the older chips first.

I have set up the following simple circuit, where a linear potentiometer‎, is wired up to the PICAXE 08M. I can set a break point and inspect the value of b0 that I am reading the pot value into, and then change the value on the pot, step over the code, and see it has changed.
I then wanted to add b0 to the Watch Window in VSM so I can move the pot and see it change in real time.

I see there are two options to add an item to the Watch Window.
Add Items (By Name)
Add Items (By Address)

The issue I have is that the (By Name) option is greyed out, and there is no Address assigned to any of the variables in the Variable Window. There seems to be addresses assigned to the lines of code in the Program Window, however these don't help me much, as I want the Address of the b0 variable.

What am I doing wrong here?

I have attached the project here in case someone wants to try and replicate the issue:
View attachment Linear Potentiometer Test.zip

See the following pic for details of my test circuit.
http://www.spearheaditsolutions.com.au/details.png

Your help is much appreciated,

codeOwl

Technical

Technical Support
Staff member