Motor Drivers and Servo Drivers

jack_flat

I am working on a project that has a motor mounted onto a set of 2 servo motors, the servo motors pick a direction for the motor and then the motor needs to go forward for (X) and then reverse for (X) anound of time.

Because the servo driver motor board only has 3 sets of outputs (and 2 are taken up by the 2 servo's) I wanted to take the 3rd output out to the (normal) motor driver board and hook up the motor to this.

Im not sure if it will work and i'm not sure of the coding that it will need but the idea is that the motor driver board 08 will sense the signal (high or low) given by the 08m on the servo driver board and if it's high it will go one way and if it's low it will go the other.

I am a PICAXE beginner so don't know much about this sort of thing but it is for a big exhibition in Vienna so need a reliable and relativley easy way to produce it.

BeanieBots

You don't give much away about your motors so I'll have a guess that the motor mounted on your servos is of similar size to the servo motors.

To make a motor go in either direction, you need what is called an "H-Bridge" driver circuit. It can be as simple as a relay or a very complex array of transistors that includes current limits and other goodies. There are also special drive chips such as the L293D that has two such bridges built in.
What you can't do, is simply connect the output to the motor.

If you have a spare servo, you can 'hack' that servo to make a variable speed bi-directional motor controller, but that is only an option if your 'other' motor is comparable in size to the motor used by the servo.

Give us more details such as motor voltage and stall current and I (or somebody else) will be able to give a more specific answer.

jack_flat

Sorry I am a complete beginner at PICAXE and electronics in general, i'm an artist trying to use the picaxe system to control some work for an exhibition, i didn't even think about including this information.