MIDI and Windows XP

alpacaman

I have a couple of ideas I'm trying to sort through about making my own musical instruments which basically is a bunch of inputs that would produce a MIDI output - using an 18x and a modified version of hippy's program. I'm on a limited budget and I don't own any MIDI capatible instruments.

I now media player in windows can play midi files. My question is, can I play incoming midi signals, through the usb port, on my pc?

Would I be able to play different voices?

I have a midi to usb interface, M-Audion Uno, to feed the midi signal to my pc.

I've searched the internet and haven't been able to come up with an answer.

I'm really new to the midi concept - so please forgive me.

alpacaman

Yes - I've been reading it with interest. Does not however answer my questions. Plus, I didn't want to ask my questions in the middle of that thread.

How can I email oldjoe directly?

hippy

Ex-Staff (retired)
There should be software for Windows which will do what you want; a good search criteria could be "MIDI Studio" and the like.

alpacaman

For those of you who are interested, here is what I found.

1) Get a MIDI to USB interface and install drivers. I'm using M-Audio's Uno which I picked up for $30 US.

2) Set up MIDI in Control Panel - From the Control Panel open Sounds and Audio Devices; Click on the Audio Tab. Select `Microsoft GS Wavetable SW Synth` as the default MIDI device. Click on the Volume button and make sure that the SW Synth volume is turned up. I learned to check the volume setting the hard way.