Measuring internal resistance of a battery...

Newone

Hi folks,

I am needing quite a bit of help as usual! (I am still new to electronics and picaxe)

Basically, I am needing to measure the internal resistance of rechargable batteries (sealed lead acid). I am needing to then display this reading on a LCD module. This will mean that I am able to monitor the status of the guts of the battery.

Now for the crunch!!

I need this project to have the ability to monitor batteries that are either 12 or 24 volts. This is not all!!! These batteries will also be pumping out up to 100 Ampres!

Is this a possible picaxe project. Obviously I will be needing to step down the power very drastically before anything else. How is the best way of doing this?

I am still figuring out Ohmes Law and other technical calculations, so would be very glad of some patient and informative support.

I guess you are asking yourself, 'why doesn't he start with something easy???'. Well, I am needing this tester in rather a hurry. Also, I have been experimenting with the basics of Picaxe and want something big to chew.

Many thanks and look forward to hearing from those who know where I need to be heading.

Buzby

Internal resistance can be determined my measuring the battery open circuit voltage and then the voltage on load. ( See : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Internal_resistance and http://data.energizer.com/PDFs/BatteryIR.pdf )

Not difficult calculations, but if you are just starting to master Ohms Law I don't think this is a good project to get your sums wrong on.

100's of Amps implies very low internal resistance, so you will need to push a lot of Amps through a small resistance. A good recipe for smoke and fire.

Do some theory on paper first, using the Wikipedia info above, then you will have some idea as to what the voltage measurements will be.

Then we can see about interfacing to a PICAXE.

Cheers,

Buzby

geoff07