Math Function

ZeroScope

Just had a look through manual 1 and 2 and couldnt find the answer.
Does BASIC have a natural log command and an indices command?

ZeroScope

Ok, thankyou for the reply. I am very new to PICAXE so im not sure what the uFPU is. I have looked it up, but would this be integrated into say a breadboard for example along with the 18X?
What i need to do is convert the voltage from a potential divider consisting of a 5k thermistor and a 5k resistor. I can convert the output of the ADC into a resistance and then i would be putting this into an arrangement of the steinhart equation in order to convert this resistance to a temperature.
Am i going about this the wrong way, is there an easier way to do the conversion?

BeanieBots

There is no pre-made PCB for use with PICAXE and uFPU. Besides, that is NOT the direction you want to take with a simple temperature device.
One option would be a simple lookup table which has several break points to linearize the values and then basic sums to scale it.
Personally, I prefer the DS18B20 which returns values in degC in a digital form to the nearest degree. There is also the readtemp12 command which is degC*16 or in other words has a resolution of 0.06C. Plenty of examples of its use on this forum.

Do you NEED to convert to degC?
If all you want do is control to a specific temperture (and not display the actual temperature) then just work with the raw values. That will also give the most accurate result as there will be no mathematical rounding/calculation losses.

ZeroScope

I've been trying to use the DS18B20 but i can't as the title of the project itself is using a thermistor as a temperature controller, which is a shame.
Also i do want to display the current temperature but im looking into just having a digi thermometer to do that so thats not a problem.