LCD Question

vk6bgn

Just curious if anyone has any experience with a 2 x 16, blue, backlit LCD made by TinSharp. Say it has a SPLC780 D1 controller in it. (is it a non standard controller???) I was given a few of these (new old stock) a couple years ago and thought I'd use one yesterday. I can't seem to get it to initialize. Can't even get any gibberish on it let alone a "Hello World".

Tried heaps of different code, but no go.

I'm not the greatest at LCD's but I've had a few projects in the past that used serial and parallel LCD's and never had any issue. Pretty straight forward stuff. I think it's an initialization problem. Anyone familiar with a Tinsharp 2 by 16 LCD, model TC1602A-09T.

28X2
8 bit mode
DB0 - B.0 , DB1 - B.1..... DB7 - B.7

Enable - C.7
R/S - C.6
R/W - Low (connected to 0V)

Thanks

Goeytex

I have no direct experience with that particular LCD Module. However, the 780 in the name suggest HD44780 compatibility.

The Datasheet can be found at the link below.

http://www.winstar.com.tw/UserFiles/downloads/13511323500823064564.pdf

Looks like a typical HD44780 "compatible" driver chip and has been used by both Winstar, Hantronix and others. I see no reason why it would not work using code proven to work on another 16X2 HD44780 compatible display.

If this is a white on blue display then the characters will not show unless the backllght is on. Suggest you also verify that the contrast voltage is about 500mv (.5 volts) when first setting up. This should get it in the ballpark so that characters can be seen.

If still having problems then consider posting your code so that we can have a look at the initialization routine.

hippy

Technical Support
Staff member
Looks like a HD44780 compatible command set to me, the initialisation routines look similar to what would be expected without specifically checking other datasheets.

Without the LCD being initalised adjusting the contrast voltages should show something on the screen.